It’s been a while

It’s been a while since I shared anything about what’s going on. Well you’re lucky. Haha. Today is the day.
Ya know when you feel like everything is going well and YOU have everything under control? Well, that is me. I have everything planned out from now until surgery on October 17, and even after.
Guess what! I got a reminder yesterday that I’m NOT the one in control. I gave it all to the Lord some time ago. I needed reminding because I am somewhat of a control freak and, even though I gave Him control, I sometimes try to take it back. Apparently my plans are not His plans.
I’m having some issues with pain in my leg and knee. It’s been going on for a short bit, but I didn’t think it to be anything major. Now it’s starting to get quite uncomfortable. Well, yesterday I had X-rays done that show there may be an issue with the hardware in my leg. I’m also walking sort of bow-legged.
The Guthrie surgeon who ordered the X-rays strongly suggested that I start using two crutches again, non-weight bearing, and call Dr. Prince at Sloan Kettering. He is the same Guthrie surgeon who took me out of work when he saw the tumor in my leg last December. Ugh. There goes my control and plans.
This morning I heard from Dr. Prince’s nurse. He would like for me to be in NYC tomorrow early morning for presurgical testing, X-rays, and a visit with him. Then surgery this Thursday. The surgery that I was supposed to have on October 17 will be done on Thursday, as well as fixing the issue with my leg that I have right now.
I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a mess right now. It’s all sort of reminding me of the situation when we first made a trip to NYC and Memorial Sloan Kettering just over eight months ago. Actually, yesterday was the eight month anniversary of my first surgery.
Meanwhile, we are in a rush to get things situated. At least this time we had a day notice, as compared to the first time and no notice. Brian’s parents and brother’s family graciously agreed to tend to Jethro and Ziva. I gave work my very short notice and called disability.
Brian gave his boss a call also. Brian checked the oil in my car, as he always does before we go any sort of distance. Well, there was no oil in the car. Not sure what that is about, but thankful that he checked it. He said there is not a drop of oil on the dipstick. Because of that, not knowing what the deal is with it, and having no time to figure it out, we will be taking the truck to NYC. We are leaving at 2am tomorrow (Wednesday) morning.
Ya know, if I would have kept driving the car back and forth to work with no oil (and no oil light on) it could have blown the engine or something. Though I am a little emotional about this whole thing right now, I once again have to be thankful for the Lord intervening in so many ways. He is such a Good Father.
So now, once again, we ask that you please keep us in prayer during this time. You all have been so faithful in doing so. Thank you.
I’m leaning on these words today:
“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in Him will I trust.”
Psalms 91:1-2 KJV

Leave a comment