8/22/19

8/22/19
We are headed back from another NYC trip. This one was to see the oncologist, Dr. Nacev, for the first time. He seems nice enough, and has more of the personality I was looking for, as compared to the other medical oncologist we saw at Sloan twice.
Dr. Nacev of course, had to reiterate that chemo is the gold standard for osteosarcoma, and said, like the previous MD he had to tell me that. I wouldn’t have expected anything else. But, he also said that it was ultimately my decision, and left the door open in the event I changed my mind. I thanked him for that.
We came up with a plan for follow-up. He would like me to have another CT of my chest in October then in January. Both can be done at Guthrie. In January we will see him again, and probably six months after that. Then the scans will be less frequent, and after next year even less frequent, until we get to five years then pretty much as needed. I asked him about alternative medicine and he said that they don’t have that in particular, but more like integrative medicine. He will set us up with someone to whom we can chat in January.
This has been an ok day. We ate lunch at a cool restaurant before the appointment. It was picked, so I don’t think we are the only ones that thought it was cool. We had time to check things out a little and ended up at a Starbucks right around the corner from where the oncologist’s office was. I still have Starbucks gift cards. Yay!
The only issue with today now is that the bus ride is taking quite some time due to accidents, pouring rain, and construction. We won’t be to Ithaca until about 2330, and not home until probably about 0100. Please keep us in your prayers, as we have to drive home from Ithaca and then up at 0-dark-30 for work. Definitely will be a Young Living Ningxia Nitro day for me tomorrow. Haha
Brian and I will be picking up my dress shoe tomorrow evening. We are headed to Greek Peak on Saturday for a wedding of a long time friend of Brian’s. I needed a pair of black dress shoes to go with the beautiful dress my sister Tammy gave me. Found them, and Jack from Armenia Mountain Footwear in Troy is fixing the right one for me by putting that one inch lift on it.
We are taking the fishing boat with us to the wedding. On the way home from Greek Peak Sunday morning we will be stopping to put it on Seneca Lake and see how it does. This is to get ready for our fishing trip to Pulaski over Labor Day weekend.
The next couple of weeks are going to be pretty busy. I’m so grateful that, even though I still am using the sticks they call crutches, I am able to do these things. Well, I guess we will find out about the fishing on Sunday. 😳
Have a blessed weekend everyone. Thank you for your continued prayers.
As usual, I will leave you with a passage of scripture. This one just speaks to me all the time.
I’ll also be posting some pictures, of course.
“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.”
Psalms 91:1-2 KJV

Do I really want coffee from the CDC? Hmm

At the restaurant called Dig. This was so delicious!

Busy at Dig. Used to be called Dig Inn.

Poor Brian. He’s so tired.
A view from the E 53rd Street office building. The Starbucks we went to is in the corner.
Our bus

On the way out of the city

Leave a comment