Surgery Update

So here’s the surgery update-
Surgery is at 4:20pm tomorrow. I have to be at the hospital by 2:30pm. Brian is able to hang out with me in PACU until I get wheeled into the OR. At that time he will have to leave the hospital. He’ll get updates by someone in the OR and also after I come out. Surgery will probably be 4/6 hours. Brian can’t come to the recovery area. Once I’m in my room then he will visit on Friday during visiting hours that are from 9am-noon.

Surgery is going to be different than planned. If some of you have seen me walking you may notice I walk with a limp. Well, apparently, after the scans and X-rays it’s become clear that my right leg is still about 1.5 cm (0.591 inches) shorter than the left. Two options were presented- live with it and get a lift put in my right shoe or have my leg lengthened a bit more. We took the second option. We will be taking “Whirly” home with us again when I leave the hospital. Some of you may remember seeing him in previous posts over a year ago. He will be in use until my follow-up appointment on the 24th.
This means that I am going to have to have another surgery to remove the lengthening rod and other rod that will be in place. You see, my bone hasn’t totally regenerated in two different areas- by the knee and up on the top outer part of my leg. The lengthening rod will be up top. The hope is that after about a year or two the bone will all be grown in and everything can be totally removed.
To say I’m disappointed would probably be an understatement. I cried in the office. I’m frustrated. I really thought this would be the final surgery. But, trying to stay on the positive side, I’ll not have a shorter leg. And, I’m grateful and blessed that I still have a leg. No sense in dwelling on it.

Well, that’s probably long enough for one post. More to follow after surgery I’m sure.

Still clinging to His Word-

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭91:1-2‬ ‭

Leave a comment